TUCK EVERLASTING by NATALIE BABBIT

23517d79-7572-4c70-a010-fd96e711f7fe_zpsb0b7c371
GOODREADS // AMAZON

“What if you could live forever?”

This is one of the few classics that I love. It was a short and quick read, yet I was fully attached and had an emotional connection to the characters. While reading, I did not read any CliffNotes, and I felt that I was missing some things with the symbolism and details. It was still a good novel nonetheless.

Synopsis: 

 “Doomed to – or blessed with – eternal life after drinking from a magic spring, the Tuck family wanders about trying to live as inconspicuously and comfortably as they can. When ten-year-old Winnie Foster stumbles on their secret, the Tucks take her home and explain why living forever at one age is less a blessing that it might seem. Complications arise when Winnie is followed by a stranger who wants to market the spring water for a fortune.”

Book Talk Time:

This book really made me think. What if you could really live forever? It sounds nice at first, being young and immortal. But then the book brings up good reasons to why it would be sad and not something you would want. It made me really think that my mortality is something I should cherish. I need to live no matter what age and take in that I get to see my family grow and live. I could really relate to the Tucks (not for being immortal), but for moving many times for centuries. I have moved a lot and I know how much of stress it puts on a family, let-alone not being able to age is a red flag.

I admired the hope from Jesse Tuck. Hoping he could live his life with Winne. To try to escape the fact that they could love together forever. It was sweet and endearing. Which made the ending even harder to read. I had to keep from getting teary-eyed.

If you have an extra hour or two, you should pick this up. I loved reading this short classic.

Would you want to live forever? Why or why not? What would be the first thing you would want to do if you knew you would live forever?

♡ TIZZY

Leave a Reply

