DOODLETOPIA: MANGA by CHRISTOPHER HART

ddb9e-e9f15dc9-44fe-4321-9f0a-edd7ca5558d5_zpsac2b8f29

AMAZON // GOODREADS

I have bought many many many art books and this one is one of the best drawing manga books I have seen in a while. I have so many great things to say about this book.♡ 

Most art books have about 20 pages; like you are supposed to learn how to draw in 30 minutes. HA! But, Doodletopia Manga is thick! Makes me know that I will learn a lot from this book. I am so excited about all the drawings I am about to experiment with. Even if you don’t end up drawing from it, there is so much you can color in throughout the book.

“An interactive doodle book from the best-selling art instruction author and cartoon master that pairs illustrating insights with drawing, designing, coloring, and crafting activities for aspiring manga artists.”

This book can be found at Penguin Random House. You can also find more information about the awesome author HERE

Book Time Talk:

I like how the author doesn’t push you, the artist, about how you have to have the best kind of paper, expensive pens and pencils, and all those crazy art supplies to be a good artist. He emphasizes how all you need is something to draw with and this book. There is nothing holding you back from being an artist. 

I love how this book is not overwhelming. It makes me feel that everything in this book is very achievable and that making mistakes is a part of learning.“There’s no need to draw perfectly right from the start. Professional artists make mistakes. Even Michelangelo made mistakes.” This book is for the manga doodler. For people who like SailorMoon, InuYasha, chibis, and any type of Shojo Beat manga. The drawings to learn from are mostly on the feminine side of manga. Not so much like Full Metal Alchemist or Witch Hunter Robin.

I really love how interactive this book is. It teaches you how to draw and how to embrace your creativity and experiment with it. I love how this book has red ink examples, where you can draw over them and create your own designs from what the author is trying to teach to you.I haven’t seen this other art books before. Really awesome! The only part of the book I am not fond of is the maze section. I don’t understand the point on having it; other than learning how to make your own mazes… but that has nothing to do with doodling manga. A cool feature it does have have is the blank pages at the end. More room to experiment and be creative.

I really can’t wait to fill this books up with my own doodles and try everything out. I was going to send this to my bestie when I was done with it, but I think I’ll keep it. Pretty sure she doesn’t want a book full of my crazy drawings. Haha. Love you Mimz ♡. 

♡ TIZZY

I received a free copy of this book from Blogging for Books, for my honest review. The opinions expressed here are my own.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

