DOODLETOPIA – FARIES by CHRISTOPHER HART

a50f11c3-08b8-49da-825e-5a039c775177_zps63a6e199

AMAZON // GOODREADS

Another “how-to” book, Yay! I have always had so much love and curiosity for fairies. Then seeing and making fairy villages in little woods behind the parks. It’s all so magical, whimsical, and fun. 

“An interactive doodle book of fairies and other fantasy characters from the best-selling art instruction author… pairing illustration tips with drawing, designing, coloring, and crafting activities.”

Also, this book can be found at Penguin Random House. You can also find more information about the awesome author HERE

IMG_20161030_153624.jpg

Everything is really cute in this book. All the fairies are the same perfect, bubbly, forrest fairies. For me growing up, I was an odd ball. I always liked the darker fairies, or the ones who were different. This book really needed variety in themes and types of fairies. I’d imagine there are so many types: water, evil, fire, genius, tropical, voodoo, ect. I know this book is about finding your own creativity, but when you are trying to learn how to draw, you are most likely going to mirror the examples you see. As you can see above, I made a witchy fairy that is more my type of fairy. 

9781607746935This book would be really good for beginner or intermediate artists. I can see this book really helping them learn the basics, and how to tap in and use their creativity. This book is does not give you help on proportions or anatomy or how to make faces or hands. It is more about advice on how to make your characters look more fairy-like.

There is some artist advice that I don’t agree with. As I was drawing and reading, I was thinking several times, “Wait, thats not anatomically correct.” I had to remind myself that there are mystical fairies, they can be shaped any way we want.

Overall, it is a cute and simple book to learn from. It is more about yourself experimenting with his advice, rather than him teaching you step by step. I am excited to fill this whole book in, and see where it takes me.  

If you want to learn more from Christopher Hart, or you would like to learn a different style of art, or maybe you’re not a fan of fairies, then I would also recommend for you to look as his other DoodleTopia Books. I also reviewed his other book: DoodleTopia: Manga.

♡ TIZZY

I received a free copy of this book from Blogging for Books, for my honest review. The opinions expressed here are my own.

Leave a Reply

