DAVID BOWIE: RETROSPECTIVE AND COLORING BOOK by MEL ELLIOT

a50f11c3-08b8-49da-825e-5a039c775177_zps63a6e199

AMAZON // GOODREADS

Even though I am not an 80’s kid, I still love Bowie so much. I remember seeing him, for the first time, in The Labyrinth when I was in 5th grade and it was love at first sight. I think he was my first celebrity crush.  He has this mysticism around him. Swoon.

“This retrospective presents music legend David Bowie’s most idiosyncratic and indelible looks through out the years, within sight into his famed designer collaborations, fashion inspirations, and stylish illustrations perfect for adult coloring book fans.

Ziggy Stardust, Aladdin Sane, Thin White Duke. . . . Bowie changed his style more dramatically than any other musician in history. His transformations brought about seismic cultural shifts, altering the definition of what it meant to be a popular rock star.”

Also, this book can be found at Penguin Random House. You can also find more information about the awesome author HERE

BOWIE.jpg

For a retrospective and a coloring book, this book is on the small size. I was expecting much much much more to it. Seeing it in person I was excited, but also disappointed. The cover is really cool. It has a great copper metallic font against a nice navy. Giving the effect that it looks like a vinyl record, even though it is almost half the size of a record.

This book is only 8″ by 8″. It would have been better if it was at least 12″ by 12″, for book that is supposed to be a coloring book and a retrospective (aka two books in one needs more room and pages). This book is lacking in so many departments. half the coloring pages is of portraits of Bowie with nothing going on in the background, and the other side of the page is just one sentence summary of the significance of the coloring page. Pretty sure if Bowie made this book, it would have been crazy and intense with designs (A coloring book on acid. I want that book). 

Even being a huge Bowie lover, I think this is an ok book. I feel like it could have had so much potential, and it fell through. Maybe I should call Watson-Guptil Publications and tell them my artistic hands are for hire. Haha. While I am bummed on how the book tuned out, I am still excited to color it and use all my vibrant color pencils.

♡ TIZZY

I received a free copy of this book from Blogging for Books, for my honest review. The opinions expressed here are my own.

Leave a Reply

