Red-Blooded American Male by Robert Trachtenberg

2cbd6837-5978-4912-bf6e-ea3554667b85_zps9cc70a96

AMAZON // GOODREADS

This is one of the most strangest and unconventional photography book I have ever seen. I do not even know how to describe it… you have to look at it for yourself.

Emmy award-winning photographer Robert Trachtenberg presents today’s playfully “macho” coffee-table collection of 100 modern (and cheeky) portraits of men including Channing Tatum, Neil Patrick Harris, Stephen Colbert, and more.

Red-Blooded American Male presents 100 of his most imaginative, striking, and unconventionally sexy portraits of both celebrities and regular guys going about their thoroughly modern lives. No longer do men have to be serious businessmen or hunky firefighters to be deemed attractive– …this gorgeous coffee-table book features an introduction about male images and stereotypes plus pithy captions about each photo’s shoot, giving readers a peek behind the curtain of a famed portrait photographer’s creative process.

Also, this book can be found at Penguin Random House. You can also find more information about the awesome author HERE.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I honestly have no words for this book. As I was flipping though, I was thinking, “How in the hell am I supposed to review this?!”  I thought this book was supposed to about men questioning gender roles and stereotypes…? But that is not the case. This book seems like it is about the silliness during their photoshoots. These are the images that we would not typically see. I guess this book is a way for us, the viewer, to see these celebrities in a more fun and relatable light.

Initially, I was going to use this book to draw from the poses, but this book is way too goofy. Some of the images are interesting, but they are mostly off-putting. I am honestly really surprised that this book got published. This book is… different. You will either love it or hate it. I guess it would be considered as a coffee table book; if you wanted to make your guests uncomfortable and hope the book makes them leave your home quicker.

I have no idea what I am going to do with this book. Maybe I will turn it into a drinking game? Whoever laughs or says “wtf” has to take a drink. We would all die. I think I will give it as a white elephant gift, watch my brother act surprised and thankful. Sounds evil enough. c:

♡ TIZZY

I received a free copy of this book from Blogging for Books, for my honest review. The opinions expressed here are my own.

Leave a Reply

